Controller Question

Big B

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I asked this question somewhere else but I feel like there is more RKE love here so here it is.

I was curious. I bought a used RKE with net that Im going to use on my upcoming 60 gallon cube build. Trying to figure out if I need or would utilize one of the DJ 8 channel power switch stations that used to be so popular. For those of you who use a controller, do you still use something like that? Is there a way to incorporate the power station with a controller?

The way that Im seeing it; and I have zero experience with either, is that you would have to plug in a whole pc4 to one switched outlet which doesn't seem to have to many advantages.

Right now my equipment list should be
Rke
Kessil 360we
jns skimmer
couple heaters
1262 return pump
vortech mp10
avast gfo reactor ran off of manifold
probably a carbon reactor of some sort.
I plan on using the RKE for Ato as well.

DaveMorris

MACNA2016 Co-Chair
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I answered you on RC, but I'll hit you here as well. I do not see a need for a DJ strip with the RKE (Or Apex for that matter). If all of your devices, pumps, skimmer, heaters, etc. are plugged in and controlled buy the RKE, then you can set it up using standbys as well as switch triggers to do things such as shutting certain items down or turning them on. You can access the four standbys on the RKE to do things like shutting down your return for feeding, shutting down your return and skimmer for cleaning, etc. You could also program it so a push button on the stand somewhere triggers an event that would be equivalent to flipping a switch on a DJ strip. I think it is an unnecessary complication to your system.

OP
OP
Big B

Big B

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Dave,