Considering a clam.

Diamond1

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I have never tried to keep clams before but I have always wanted to try. With my new tank set up I think I will be giving it a go but need some advice first.

First off I'm interested in Crocea clams because they have a great range of colors and smaller size. Is this a good choice for a first timer?

Second thing is lighting: I have a 4 bulb 24 watt t5ho fixture over my 29 gallon tank that is 18 inches deep. Is this enough light for these clams to be placed on the sand bed? Is there a good combo of bulbs that will help make it easier to keep clams? Right now I'm running 2 ati coral plus and 2 actinics.

Third is fish: The only fish in the tank right now is a tail spot blenny. I'm planning on adding 2 or 3 more. Any kind of fish I need to avoid besides angels?

Since it is a newer tank I'm not going to be adding a clam for a while, (probably after the first of the year) to let the tank get settled in and balance itself out.

Any info or advice would be greatly appreciated.

spspirate

Tidepool Explorer
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
You might be weary of some wrasses. Butterflies will also nip. IMO I don't think you have enough light to keep a tridacna long term. Your looking at 96 watts. Thats not a lot. You might be more successful with a t. derasa or t. squamosa but then again this is just my opinion. I would stay away from t. crocea and t. maxima if you do end up getting one.

OP
OP
Diamond1

Diamond1

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Thanks thats what I was wondering about the lights. I'm thinking about adding a couple of ecoxotic stunner strips. Do you think that would be enough with the t5s to keep one?

spspirate

Tidepool Explorer
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0