Aqua Controller via Raspberry PI

wolfenstein87

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
So I'd like to build my own reef controller, but it seems like everyone else is mostly doing it to control their lights; that is actually the one thing I don't care for it to do. I'd like to set it up to monitor params, maybe a webcam, and eventually control some pumps. I would like it to have a web interface and log the data. I'm no programmer, or EE, but I am tech savvy and capable of learning plus I like to tinker. Anybody out there set up one, or know where I can find the resources? I have a Raspberry PI B+ sitting at my desk collecting dust, initially bought it to run a bug tracking database but MySQL is too resource heavy for it run smoothly.

Params that I'd like to monitor:
pH
Salinity
Temp
Alk
Ca
NO3
NO2
Ammonia

Last edited:

redfishbluefish

Stay Positive, Stay Productive
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I certainly can't offer you any advice considering I recently found out what a raspberry was. However, what I can offer is encoragement. My future son-in-law, who is an engineering student at Stevens Institute of Technology, always insults my current controllers (Reefkeepers), and implies how simple it would be to build one using a raspberry.

cdness

2006 - Present
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Simple yes, cost effective, not always...

Tagging along though to see your progress. Many have done it with netduino and arduino devices. So start tinkering and keep us posted ;)

redfishbluefish

Stay Positive, Stay Productive
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0

revhtree

Owner Administrator
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 100%
1   0   0
Following along!

OP
OP
W

wolfenstein87

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0