Help with BeanAnimal Overflow system

booth2010

Newb but eager to learn!
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I am going to be doing the BeanAnimal style overflow for my new setup. It is a 40G Breeder with a 28G NRS-30 sump. The head height will be around 35ish inches + or - a few. I really only have 2 questions. First would 3/4" PVC work or should I go with 1" to be safe? I feel like 1" might be too much flow for the setup. Second what size return pump should I get? Im thinking an Eheim Compact 3000 would do the trick or do yall think it wouldnt be strong enough?

Arron209

Acroholic
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I'm using the compact 3000 pump for my 57g 2with 20g sump. I think it's more than enough flow and I actually have it turned down a bit.

FrankAbagnale

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I used the 3000 on my breeder and loved it. I actually had it turned down some as well. That pump was so quiet!

I am by no means an expert, but I think you would want 1" for your overflow pipes. Hopefully someone else chimes in.

OP
OP
booth2010

booth2010

Newb but eager to learn!
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Yea I am going with 1"... For my pump I am still not sure... I would love to go the cheaper route and get he Eheim Compact 3000 but the Sicce Syncra Pro 1000 or the RLSS DC 4000... IDK lol

FrankAbagnale

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Yea I am going with 1"... For my pump I am still not sure... I would love to go the cheaper route and get he Eheim Compact 3000 but the Sicce Syncra Pro 1000 or the RLSS DC 4000... IDK lol

I'm totally with you. I've never used the Sicce or RLSS. DC pumps are nice and I actually switched to a DC on my new tank, but I still give the Eheim major props. I went through a few different pumps before I landed on the 3000+ for my breeder, and I was VERY happy with it.

Thunderfan

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0