Another DIY led...

dacianb

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Some time ago I started a topic asking people around what and how about a LED DIY...
Also I studied since more in detail and I think is time to show my progress on light.

ScreenShot.jpg

This is the main idea - a complete DIY light system (including mounting bridge) compatible with RedSea Reefer 350 - not yet bought but planned for near future (tax return gift)

As requirements - have to be mounted on the tank itself (I dont like hanging lights), to look nice and be silent. All components and parts will be top quality, no ebay style.

Further step by step details will come.

OP
OP
dacianb

dacianb

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
First step was to design a LED board, as none of the off-the-shelf boards were what I needed. Requirements would be to have Luxeon Z style and Osram style footprints on as high density possible to avoid "disco effects" and also high penetration.

Size of it 90x90 mm with 32 LEDs on 4 channels (approx 100W):
Channel 1 - 2 x Luxeon Z
Channel 2 - 12 x Osram
Channel 3 - 12 x Osram
Channel 4 - 6 x Osram

mcpcb.jpg

snoopie

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Where did you find these boards? Been going crazy looking for a good board. Either way I am following this topic.

snoopie

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Yes I read that just curious on where. Should of been more specific. Thanks.

OP
OP
dacianb

dacianb

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
This is how leds are distributed on the board.
LED array.jpg

the board with LEDs on:
MCPCBwith leds.jpg

- channel 1 - 2xLuxeon UV at 420-425nm - max current 1A
- channel 2 - 12 x Oslon Square Deep Blue - powered at 1A, but those leds can handle 1.8A - so high efficiency and increased lifetime