New sump refugium questions

esskii23

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Ok so I'm new to this whole refugium filter system stuff and want to know if this is normal or should I change something on the set up. I had a 55 gallon tank that I converted to a refugium filter and the dimensions are 48" long 15" wide 16" tall. I put three chambers the first one is 12" for the inlet coming from my hang on box. Then it goes to the middle chamber which is 23" long for the refugium and live rock. Then goes to the last chamber which is 8 1/2" long for the return. I have 1" pvc going in and out of my filter.
Question 1: why do I have air bubbles every now and then coming from my inlet tubes. That are ran to stop under the water level to quiet it a little bit.
Question 2: I have two ins and two outs but I can only run one pump because when both are on the water level is too low in the return chamber. I'm using the 1200 rio pumps and I don't know if one is enough to handle my tank which is a 130 gallons.
Question 3: my hang on box to feed the refugium is so loud any suggestions on how to quiet it down a bit?

So if anyone has any input on any of these to help me get this system dialed in it be greatly appreciated. Also if you need more detail on something let me know I'm trying to explain this without writing a book. thanks in advance

bbtm64

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
On your return line, right after the pump, I'd suggest adding a shut off valve. That way you can adjust the return flow so it doesn't empty out the chamber. I had to do this.

Try putting a foam block over the intake from your overflow box. It'll help deaden the noise quite a bit.

760mason

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0