Ca Reactors

JurisHP

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I have decided to get a Ca reactor. I've been doing A LOT of research and have narrowed my choices to the following:

Either a Reef Octopus dual chamber CR3000D or a GEO C618;

10# C02 tank;

A C02 regulator Aquariumplants.com Electronic Co2 Regulator (with 8 digit LCD Counter)

Which Reactor is better? It seems that most experts suggest a dual chamber, and GEO does not have that.

I have a Neptune Systems Apex controller. Do I still need a separate pH Controller? If so, which is considered the best?

Have I missed anything that I need?

niftyjosh

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
10# co2 should last almost a year and a half to two years which is nice. I burn 5#s in just under a year.

I have no experience with reef octopus but I do with geo. A few years ago, I switched from my precision marine reverse flow to a geo and hated it. Acrylic was thinner and took a bit more tweaking to dial in. A few weeks in, I came home to a waterfall only to find the lid for the geo had cracked in half. Needless to say I switched back to the PM. I just got a new PM 5 weeks ago, regular flow as they don't make reverse flow anymore and I couldn't be happier.

As for the dual chamber, there are a few stand alone ones you can get and I highly recommend getting one.

I use a RKL to monitor the reactors ph and have it shut down co2 if it gets under 6.5.

d2mini

5000 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Here's mine.
A LifeReef LCR2 CaRx with AP Carbon Doser and an old Cole-Parmer Masterflex drive for ultra consistent effluent drip rate.
My display is 200g plus another 150g in frag tank, fuge, etc.
And I really like this Two Little Fishies REBORN media.
The AP doser and Co2 tank are not seen here because they are on the other side of my fish room wall.