LED's, Acronyms, Alphabetisms and confusion: By ModAquatics

revhtree

Owner Administrator
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 100%
1   0   0
I have seen many posts asking questions about LEDs, PAR, etc, and instead of answering different posts I thought I would start one to create more confusion. :bigsmile: I am not an expert by any means, but I am really into lighting. The information below is based on my personal knowledge.

The following spectrum's may differ between LED manufacturers. The terminology can apply to different types of lighting.
LED's come in color and whites (generally speaking).

LED-1.jpg

Royal Blue LED by Philips

COLOR LED

The colors concentrate on specific wavelength ranges and the LED's are rated by those wavelengths measured in nanometers. (nm=nanometer)

Ultra-violet (UV) 340-420nm Can't see it at the low end, the upper end is violet. It is dangerous at the intensities that we run and should be avoided.
Violet (V) - 410-440nm Burple :wink:
Royal Blue (RB) - 440-460nm Very Blue. Many corals fluoresce different colors when illuminated by this spectrum. See Picture below.
Blue (B) - 460-490nm Blue
Cyan (C) - 490-520nm Not really used much in aquaria
Green (G) - 520-550nm Good for making green corals pop. Contrary to popular belief, chlorophyll's don't use green very much. Most plants reflect it which is why they appear green.
Amber (A) - 570-610nm Not really used much.
Red (R) - 610-645nm Good for making red pop but not used much
Deep Red (DR)- 650-670 Utilized by chlorophyll to produce color. I am experimenting with this and have seen significant color improvement. Especially when combined with Violet LED's. (Thanks SteveB :D ). Deep Red LED's are very visually powerful and should be used as such.
Anything higher than 670nm gets into infra-red (Heat)

LED20111117_06.jpg

Cool White Philips LED

WHITE LED