So My Hippo has Ich...Who Cares!

ReefMadScientist

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello everyone,

I would first like to introduce myself as not a expert reefer but not exactly a rookie either. I guess we can say I am a novice. I have had my tank going for a couple of years now and have witness and experienced the menace parasite that is Ich. I want to share some of my experiences with you to help you through your process..maybe :)

So the first time my Hippo Tang got Ich, I was running around the house like a mad man thinking the fish just swam through a radiation zone and that I needed to perform some sort of CPR quickly. I've read the horror stories, the disastrous tank wipe outs, and I was a scared little boy about to kiss a girl.

So that initial time I took my hippo in a sandwich bad and drove him to my LFS and he verified it was Ich...due to the white bumps it left. I quickly spent $200 bucks on a 40g breeder, heater, Overflow, you name it trying to defeat this parasite. I removed ALL my fish (3 hours later) and was able to nab them into the new breeder and started to slowly dose Copper Power.

Long store short, 10 weeks later I placed them all back in the DT feeling happy I did not lose one-single fish. A few months later....YOU GUESSED IT....it was back on the Hippo.

That was over a year ago and this morning I woke up to my hippo, yet again, having Ich and it made me think that I should comment on here on my methods now....I say WHO CARES!

My mentality and actions are to keep all fish Happy, Healthy, and Fat. I got some Garlic Extract SeaWeed and put more drops of Garlic Power on it. Fed the fish and walked away.

I believe sometimes we can get carried away with freaking out and making matters worse. I know as long as I keep my fish happy, healthy, and fat, they will be able to defeat the parasite.

*Note - My Hippo has had Ich maybe six times thus far since that initial terror.

Hope this helps someone.

scruggyj