Large Angel deaths and issues, stumped (180 some reef)

4FordFamily

Tang, Angel, and Wrasse Nerd!
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Ok folks, this is complex. I am a 12 year hobbyist and keep 3-6 tanks at a time. Bare with me here... it's all important for diagnosis.

History:
I have been struggling with large angels for the past few months. I had not had trouble for quite awhile before that.

I have been killing Emperor, Queen and Passer angels. They are showing zero aggression towards one another and get along great (as my past trio's have because I add them about the same time).

Parameters & Equipment:
The tank is a 180 gallon, it is "established" (but three months ago was a 125 I upgraded, and used new sand but everything was established).
I run:
ASM G4X (Rated for 450 gallons)
60 Gal Sump with large turf scrubber built in
Small (27 watt) UV sterilizer
Chaeto algae
Carbon changed out every 6 months,
Phosban reactor changed out every 2 months (I know, not enough)
I have pretty decent flow. I wouldn't consider it high but it is not low. It's probably medium/high. I have maybe 7 power heads of "medium" size (had them laying around and forget entirely what they're rated at).

Water params: (API Kits)
Temp: 77-78 degrees
Salinity: 1.025 (Refractometers, tested with two of them)
Calcium: 420
Alk: 13, or 235 PPM I believe
Phosphates: .1
Nitrates: .4 PPM
Nitrite and Ammonia (assumed zero but did not test)

It may be important to note that I am just recently winning the dinoflagelate battle and it's been traded out for GreenHairAlgae. These came about while vodka dosing 8 months ago when the setup was a 125. I still have to siphon a bit of Dino out every 2-3 weeks and do a 25 gallon water change 1-2x per month. I know the presence of Dino and GHA have been blamed for artificially low nitrate readings but as much as I change water and as much as I am removing nitrates with this system it seems plausible.