revhtree

Owner Administrator
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 100%
1   0   0
vodka_reef.jpg

Carbon dosing with emphasis on Vodka/Vinegar

I had a little interest in Vodka/vinegar dosing from a couple people so here's a little write up of how I got started and basic info. I know that Vodka/Vinegar dosing has taken a back seat since the introduction of bio-pellets into the hobby but I still prefer the control of doing it this way. Keep in mind that I'm no scientist or writer for that matter. I claim no responsibility for anything bad that may happen to your tank or its inhabitants. Your actions are completely your own. Anybody with experience carbon dosing that wants to add anything please do so. It would be great to get someone with experience with bio-pellets to add some info too.

Why dose Vodka/Vinegar

Vodka/Vinegar(Carbon) dosing has been reported to fuel increased bacteria populations. These bacteria in turn consume NO3 and Po4 in a reef tank. These increased populations of bacteria are then skimmed out via protein skimming resulting in increased skimmate and lower NO3 and PO4. The lower nitrates and phosphates can also be a great way to fight certain types of algae in your tank.

Another reason to dose, is that as No3 and Po4 come down, your feeding levels can be increased. This works great for tanks with fish that require multiple feeding or for people who just like to keep their fish on the plump side. :bigsmile:

Read before you dose:

1. Make sure you have test kits for NO3(nitrates) and PO4(phosphates). Its very important you know what these levels are before you attempt any form of carbon dosing.

2. Only dose carbon if you have a strong skimmer. The increase in bacteria also uses oxygen and a strong skimmer is needed to increase oxygenation. The use of activated carbon can also help and is encouraged.

3. Carbon dosing is not recommended for people with established deep sand beds. Negative effects have been reported.