Dosing versus old school

sealbeach1

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello,

I have been reefing for about 25 years and I am lover everything SPS.... That being said I have used Calcium Reactors the entire time and now I am considering going dosing and using the Balling System. And before everybody tells me to do a search for old postings I want just SPS guys to share there experience bad or good.... As I get older I would love to make reefing a little easier. I am told that a well run dosing system provide a very stable environment for SPS.

I would also like to wish everybody a very Merry Christmas and Happy New Year to all of your family and friends.

David

jackson6745

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
David, I'm a long time refer like you, SPS dominated systems. I've always had tanks 120gals or less so 2 part wasn't very expensive for me, and it does provide a very stable environment. IMO less chance of something going wrong if you have a quality doser. I ran a reactor on an old system for a while and it worked great, but 2 times I had my jbj regulator malfunction and melt my media. I'm sure today there are better regulators but I haven't even considered going back to a reactor. In a large system 300gals + I probably would run a reactor again just for the cost effectiveness.

jda

10K Club member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I would never run a SPS tank without a CaRx. I have been using the same Korallin since 1998. Easy, stable, cheap and I think that it does a better job with the trace elements.

Either will work, though.

I would not get rid of your CaRx until you have a few months of dosing under your belt. It would cost more to get back in if you decide that you like CaRx better.

OP
OP
S

sealbeach1

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0