Vinegar Dosing SPS Tank

Jimbo

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I have a stubborn case of Green Hair Algae that I have been battling for 6 months now. It's not a severe case but there is a good amount on my rocks. I have been running a GFO reactor and changing the media every 2 weeks. My phosphates test at 0.02 ( Hanna Checker ) Nitrates are at 0 ( Red Sea Pro) They tested this low even before the Algae outbreak.

I obviously have phosphate and nitrate available or I wouldn't have a problem. I am considering dosing vinegar but how do I gauge my dosage when I have no detectable nitrate?

Can I start according to the vinegar dosing chart and use the algae as a guide ? Keep upping the amount until I see a decline In the algae ?

I have a 70 Gallon SPS tank with mostly frags and a couple of mini-colonies. SPS actually have better color now than they did before I had an algae issue but it's gotten to the point where I need to get rid of this stuff.

Some tank info: 30"x30"x18" tank
8x24 ATI Sunpower ( Bulbs are 10 months old, I'm in the process of changing them)
Alk 8.5
Calcium 450
magnesium 1380

I have previously run Biopellets on this tank for a year. Was very unhappy with SPS color and realized when the hair algae started, that the pellets were much better at reducing nitrate than phosphate although phosphate always tested fine and nitrates were always 0. I also was starving my SPS.

I removed the pellets and there was a dramatic increase in growth and color of my SPS. They looked MUCH better after removing the biopellets. That was 6 months ago, Problem is the hair algae persists and i have some kind of nutrient issue although I don't test for any. Considering the vinegar after much research to hopefully finally get rid of the algae and then dosing amino acids and feeding more than when I was using the pellets, to avoid making the same mistake.

Any advice or suggestions ?

mike007

5000 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0