Jedi Mind Trick monti question

glb

7500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
ImageUploadedByREEF2REEF1430776301.975401.jpg

I've had this frag in my tank for a little over a week now. It seems to be doing fine so far. I looked at other pics of what I have and they have bright red 'eyes' with short feeding tentacles, like this by Mark 09
ImageUploadedByREEF2REEF1430776484.234593.jpg

How long does it take for the 'eyes' to grow? Right now I just have slightly red dimples on the surface of an otherwise greenish surface. Any help would be appreciated as I'm brand new to SPS!

zesty

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
You are one week in with this frag, you're seeing color and polyps, then sit back and watch it. Sounds like it's doing well. Since it's new, just watch the frag to see if it's encrusting or changing color, etc. It should start growing out around the edges and down/ish. Just watch it and observe any major changes. I know that any frag I get could go south and then swing back... I've had frags brown out, grow and then get some color, sometimes corals take time for me before they look good or grow or both. haha

To see new eyes, that will vary a bit from tank to tank, light to light. I would "guess" within another 2 weeks, you should see some noticeable growth. maybe sooner!!!

good luck!!!

OP
OP
glb

glb

7500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
You are one week in with this frag, you're seeing color and polyps, then sit back and watch it. Sounds like it's doing well. Since it's new, just watch the frag to see if it's encrusting or changing color, etc. It should start growing out around the edges and down/ish. Just watch it and observe any major changes. I know that any frag I get could go south and then swing back... I've had frags brown out, grow and then get some color, sometimes corals take time for me before they look good or grow or both. haha