A Low Country Reef Tank....one more final upgrade

SPotter

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
So here I go again with another final upgrade build. This is my first build thread on Reef2Reef so I am looking forward to meeting some new members on here. Here is a little info on my previous system.... I had set up 72x36x28 in March of 2012 that was running until June 2013 when my wife and I decided to sell our home in NJ and move to SC. At which point I sold the tank, stand, sump and lighting as well as all of my livestock. We are now in the process of building a house that should be done February/March 2014 and if I have it my way, the new tank will be delivered the day after the closing….I've been going nuts not having a tank to tinker with. Now onto the new system……

Display: 96"x36"x24" still deciding on glass/acrylic and who will build the tank for me.
Stand: Steel
Filtration: Rubbermaid Stock tanks…100g sump, 100g fuge and 150g live rock bin
Lighting: Going old school with 4 x 250w Metal Halides and VHO Super Actinic.
Circulation: My wife asked that on this tank there be none to as little as possible equipment in the tank so I am going to go with 2 closed loop systems powered by DC pumps. My goal on this tank will be to concentrate more on chaotic flow patterns than on overall turnover rates.
Return Pump: Not sure yet
Skimmer: I will be selling my ATB 10.5 because it won't be big enough and will be going with an external skimmer. Based on some recent reviews and feedback by some reefers that I really trust I will be going with a Skimz skimmer.
UV Sterilizer: 120w Emperor Aquatics HO UV