Sand bed Diatoms never go away. Detailed specs inside.

allyourfish

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello guys / gals, I believe this is my first time posting here but seems like a really cool resource. I need to know from your experiences what I am overlooking for these diatoms constantly spreading on my sand bed, tank is nearing a year old. Here are detailed specs / pictures of my setup please help!! :squigglemouth:

I have gone through everything in my tank with a fine toothed comb and cannot figure out why my sand bed is still covered in brown diatom algae!? Please let me know if I have overlooked anything.
-General-
-Back of tank-

-1st Chamber - Filter Floss (Changed Bi-Weekly)-2nd Chamber - Divided into 2 sections with Egg Crate -1st Division - 2 tbsp of BRS ROX 0.8 Carbon - in high-flow changed every 2 weeks / MJ1200 to Media Reactor / Return -2nd Division - Refugium JBJ Nano Glo runs opposite of my display lights with Chaetomorpha changed every 2 weeks -3rd Chamber - Return Pump Sponge / Return Pump with Hydor Flo - Rotator and Purigen -Once every 2 weeks I vacuum the back parts of the tank where sand and detritus settle in the sump. Picture - https://www.dropbox.com/s/ff5h2vuq96crmfm/2014-04-15 18.39.39.jpg [4]
-Parameters-
  • PH 7.8/.9
  • Salinity 1.025/.6
  • Ammonia 0ppm
  • Nitrate <5ppm
  • dKH 10.6
  • MG 1460
  • p04 0ppm
  • Calcium 400ppm
  • Used to use API PH 8.2 to get my 7.0 PH RO water to spec, recently my salt mix has been buffering my NSW to 8.5+ I literally have no clue. So I have been using Sulphuric Acid to drop it
-Inhabitants
  • ~20 hermits
  • ~5 Nessarius Snails
  • ~5 Ceriths
  • 1 Turbo
  • 1 Cleaner Shrimp
  • No Fish! My Sixline ate them all, Shouldn't have done that.....
ALGAE PROBLEM- https://www.dropbox.com/s/7v0pzfd3bescoil/2014-04-15 18.35.29.jpg [5]