My little bit of the ocean

scottishreefer

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi

I’ve only just become a member of this forum and I thought I should introduce myself and post some info about my my tank. Hopefully I’ll upload some pics soon.

I have been keeping fish for about 20 years off and on, firstly it was just a small tropical tank then I progressed to keeping and breeding Malawi cichlids. I think it was then that I wanted more of a challenge and started my first marine tank, one of the old methods where undergravel filters were the norm. Oh, how things have progressed since then. I did however manage with a few fish and a couple of inverts. Unfortunately, personal circumstance caused me to have a break from fishkeeping for a couple of years but I was bitten by the bug again about 9 years ago and wanted to set up another marine tank.

My present tank has been running for about 3 years in total, including a house move 16 months ago. The only thing that has changed in this time is more corals, more fish, a couple of rescapes and the upgrade of adding the par38 lamps, the sump and refugium after I moved to this house.

My present set up is -

Tank - 48 (L) x 18 (W) x 22 (H) with a diy overflow

The sump is 30 x 15 x 15, plus I have an additional 90 litre storage tub that I use as a refugium with chaeto and caulerpa (thinned out every couple of weeks) which is swimming with lots of pods and mysid shrimp of some kind. The refugium is fed from the sump and returns to the final chamber before being pumped back to the main tank.

The sump and refugium are in a large 'walk in' cupboard that is back to back with the main tank. All aquarium electrics are fed from its own circuit breaker.

Skimmer – Bubble Magus NAC7

D+D FMR75 media reactor running biopearls

Live rock - approx 50kg

Circulation – 1 x Vortech MP40w and 1 x Koralia Evolution 2800. The return from the sump is an H2Ocean 2000 pump.