Greetings!!

Bombertech

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello to all,

I'm a reefer from Bend, Oregon. I'm looking for a change of pace so decided to transition my primary forum to here.

Shout out to the local Portland/Seattle area guys for whom their indispensable expertise has pushed me further than I had ever imagined.

A little about me:

My hobbies are Mountain Biking/Adventuring, Reefing, and lighting design. I am an automation engineer by trade so tinkering/modding/building are my passion. I was unimpressed with the lighting technologies presented when I hopped back into the hobby a couple years back so I started developing my own spectrum mixes, primarily with LED's. This has lead me to near madness as I revise/rebuild to master lighting sources specializing in Ultra BTA's and zoas. Zoa/BTA morphing has become a primary focus between lighting builds.

I strongly believe in corals by design, as well as designer fish. Mastering this will lead to less demand for wild collected stock. I also see this somewhat akin to some of the longer established hobby's such as tropical freshwater or orchid growing.

A little about my setup:

I have a 6G Fluval Edge as my display tank in the house, primarily stocked with Zoas, acans, and chalices. The sump/support systems are in the garage, total system volume hovers around 500 gallons including 1ea buckhorn 4x4x2 shipping container for an equipment sump, 1 more for grow-out, and a 48x24x7" lighting test tank built into a desk where I keep the stuff that is transitioning. I keep my bio-load down to working fish/inverts

That sums it up, I look forward to meeting some new people and contributing to what I believe to be the most challenging and rewarding hobby I have ever encountered.

Happy Reefing!

fishroomlady

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0