Clowninaround74's 60g cube build

clowninaround74

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Well after a lot of browsing and reading other tank builds, I figured I would create one here. This is my first attempt back in the hobby since getting out of it about 5 years ago due to constant moving and being in college. In the past, Ive had a 40g FOWLR predator tank, 10g mixed reef nano, and a 24g aquapod mixed reef. My goal for this is to have an SPS dominated tank with a small number of zoa's and LPS. The tank is still very new but I am achieving stability with my parameters. I have a very small fish load right now but plan to add a few more fish in the future.

Equipment:
60g Marineland Cube
Eshopps sump
Sicce 3.0 return pump
ViaAqua titanium heater
Eshopps s120 skimmer
Radion Pro with ReefKoi light rack (REEFKOI CORALS, SPS, LPS, Zoanthids)
2 Ecotech MP10wes
Ecotech Battery Backup
Tunze Osmolator ATO

The tank was started on October 1, 2013, and cycled for roughly a month and a half. I started with 45lbs of BRS Fiji dry rock which was pressure washed and put into the tank. I also used about 60lbs of sand. All rocks were epoxied together to provide a stable aquascape. I have had issues with rocks falling with previous tanks so I wanted to avoid that all together. CUC was added in mid December, along with 4 blue/green chromis and a fire shrimp. Corals are being added slowly and I am really trying to be selective with what I add. All corals are being dipped with Coral Rx Pro to help avoid the introduction of pests.

On to the progress photos:

The tank will be in my office at home. I painted the office and got the tank in place.

Plumbing roughed in and completed. This was my first time plumbing a tank, as I had only had AIO setup's before. I plan on adding media reactors in the future, this is the reason for the "manifold" under the tank: