140 gallon dd

Masgatigata

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Upgrading my 55 to a 140dd. The 55 is not reef ready, and is currently leaking, so this is my first time delving into the world of plumbing. Does anyone have any advice (or links) to plumb this bad boy?

Also, I'm researching the pros and cons to a deep sand bed. I'm leaning more and more towards adding it. Anyone think otherwise? I'll be building the stand this week. I'll update as this project progresses.

140dd.jpg

Attachments

• 140dd.jpg
    140dd.jpg
    92.2 KB · Views: 360

maxxin69

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
How you plumb it is ultimately up to you. I would suggest using PVC and lots and lots of unions. Keep it simple since making things too complex makes for a terrible time troubleshooting along with it looks ugly if it's all plumbed in the sump. As for DBS I don't have any preference.

d2mini

5000 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I wouldn't do a DSB in the tank.
If it ever turns on you, you need to tear down the whole tank.
Look into doing a remote DSB maybe.

OP
OP
M

Masgatigata

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Almost finished with the frame. Do you guys think I need to add a center brace or can I leave it as is? Not gonna go with the dsb...looking into a remote bed. Any recommendations on skimmers?
tankframe.jpg

OP
OP
M

Masgatigata

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
standwtim.jpg

Got some trim done and skinned. Messed up on the front skin a bit but I think the cabinet doors will cover the line up just fine.

OP
OP
M

Masgatigata

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Got the tank sealed and primed. Tomorrow I will paint. In the meantime, I have to clean my kitchen. The horrors of building things in winter time...

paintedstand.jpg

trido

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0