Im New to SW tanks. Never had one b4. I need help!!!!

TaylorLee

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I am currently trying to setup a 125 gallon FOWLR tank.

Only thing that i am sure of buy is a Vertex IN-180 protein skimmer. Haha i am planning to do a sump underneath of 40gallon long and idk how i need to set it up as in overflow box and what size overflow to get as well as return pumps to return the water back into the tank. I want to do a refugium inside the sump. Can any one help me out on what i should buy and how big i should get it? For example... I need powerheads. Should i get 2 powerheads rated for a 75 gallon that circulates 750gph or a 125gallon rated powerhead... and so on and so forth... thanks for all who help me out! -Taylor

ColaAddict

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Check out your local forums to see if anyone can help you drill your tank. a drilled tank is better than a hang-on overflow, which can fail on you and cause a flood. you can check out youtube for DIY 40 breeder sumps. melevsreef.com also has sump designs you can research. do as much research as possible, so you don't have to redo things later on, will save you the headache of that. get the biggest skimmer you can that will fit in your sump, they work better and save you a ton of money if you deside to upgrade later on. Local forum is the key, you can get someone local to actually come by and personally coach you. obviously find someone with good reputation :)

Reef Breeders

ReefBreeders.com
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
FOWLR tanks are not too hard, a UV sterilizer helps, as well as a skimmer and a fuge. Instant ocean salt is pretty good, I would not worry too much about a fuge, that is mostly for phosphate removal.

Loki

My skimmate doesn't stink
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0