Cycling DRY live rock progress thread (with photos)

TPetty84

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi all!!
I'm starting this thread to show beginners how to cycle dried out, used, live rock. I am by no means an expert. I have maybe 5 years experience in marine tanks, and have never cycled dry live rock before. Should be informative and possibly interesting. 1smile1

OP
OP
T

TPetty84

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
image.jpg

25lbs of "dead rock"

OP
OP
T

TPetty84

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Sorry guys, side-tracked by the plague. Been in bed for a week. Rock is still soaking in vinegar, and will be moving further this weekend. Stay tuned

OP
OP
T

TPetty84

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
FINALLY got back to it! In the end, the rock soaked in a 5 gallon bucket with one gallon of vinegar and the rest topped of with water for 8 days. I took it out and it had a layer of what I'd describe the consistency of clay. Scrubbed off fairly easily with a scrub brush and took about an hour total.

BEFORE SCRUB
image.jpg
image.jpg

AFTER SCRUB
image.jpg
image.jpg

OP
OP
T

TPetty84

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Sorry about the double photos. Can't figure out how to get rid of the duplicate. This is how the rock looks compared to the original photo.
image.jpg

OP
OP
T

TPetty84

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
If you enjoy having skin on your knuckles, I'd suggest a scrub brush like this. That rock is porous and sharp!
image.jpg

OP
OP
T

TPetty84

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Can anyone help me on how sure I have to be to get ALL vinegar out of pores of the rock before I begin cycling? I know it's organic but don't know if it will be toxic to the system. Obviously I'll rinse well but should I soak on RO/DI to make sure ALL is gone? Or is a little ok?

Daniel@R2R

Living the Reef Life
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 100%
1   0   0