Outdoor Sump

a1.gaz

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi, this is my first attempt at keeping Marine Fish. I have built my own corner tank and sump. Has anybody ever had any experience of housing their sump outside? I was thinking of digging a hole in the ground and putting the sump in a well insulated box in the ground, really just to keep the noise and mess out of the living room. Baring in mind I live in the UK and can have slightly harsh winters. I would appreciate any thoughts on this matter. Thanks Gary

Mike in CT

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I think that would almost be impossible. A big reason people have sumps is to keep equipment ( heaters, skimmers etc..,) out of the display tank. I don't know how that could be done if it's outside and in the ground. I have heard of people who live in warm stable climates having out doors sumps but I can imagine having one where you live. Sumps take up space, but there is no reason they have to be noisy or messy if they are set up right.
Just my 2 cents :)

OP
OP
A

a1.gaz

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I have changed my mind slightly, I am going to build a small sump shed on the outside wall of the house that can house the sump. I will insulate this well and hopefully it will be a lot easier to maintain. I have made a start on insulating the sump as shown
2014-04-23 19.21.10.jpg
2014-04-23 19.21.15.jpg

OP
OP
A

a1.gaz

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
It maybe a bit overkill but I have bought 2 - 300 watt heaters, was planning on using 1 in the sump and 1 in the tank.....any thoughts?

zemuss

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Both heaters should be in the sump in my opinion. Put one is each chamber so that the flow goes over each and is heated in stages. However place the sump outside where is the skimmer going?

PaulKreider

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0