what is the best type of lighting for a frag tank?

dannylez

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi. I'm relatively new to the hobby and currently have a coralife 14g biocube. I want to start a frag tank and it's a JBJ RL20; 24x20x9. I'm going to be doing mostly zoas and soft corals maybe some LPS later on. What would be the best type of lighting for this size frag tank and how high above the water should it be? I would also like to know a good lighting schedule for these. I've been doing a lot of looking on line and it's very confusing. it seems like everyone has there own way of doing things and many of them are opposites. So any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks. :squigglemouth:

Bradsreeeftank

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
That's like asking what's the best car? I used LEDs before and like my growth and my color of corals but if you wanna go cheaper the. Go t5, don't forget you half to replace bulb every 6 months. Do some research bud, youtube diffrent brand LEDs. Check out the artic T247, it's fully dimmable and timer built in. Only 200 bucks!

ReeferEric

Resident Reef Junky
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
That's like asking what's the best car? I used LEDs before and like my growth and my color of corals but if you wanna go cheaper the. Go t5, don't forget you half to replace bulb every 6 months. Do some research bud, youtube diffrent brand LEDs. Check out the artic T247, it's fully dimmable and timer built in. Only 200 bucks!

6 months is incorrect, or rather of opinion. Generally most people who RUN T5s will change them every 9-12 months. Growth rates for me is beyond LEDs, others will agree but to each its own.

Here is a picture of my current frag tank with an AI Vega over it. Its hanging at 30" from the bottom of the tank.
13315935855_be7d61a41a_z.jpg