Bubble Magus problem

learner1

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi I am new to Marine fish and coral keeping although had considerable experience in tropicals.

My tank had been set up for 4 months and is settling well
I have a Bubble Magus circle 5 skimmer which was working perfectly but now is giving me nightmares.
When we change the sock now the skimmer started overflowing with clean waster- no foam at all.
The top cup filled in seconds so I had to take the stopper off and let it drain into the sump.
After 7 days it slowed down and I replaced the stopper. Then we had to change the sock again
and the same thing happened again. Once again no foam.
Today I noticed a collection of what looks like salt in the sump at the foot of the skimmer.
We have turned the power off and on again but I do not know what to do to get it working properly.
There are air bubbles in the bottom and it is set on minimum.
Any help would be appreciated.

tigerdragon

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Check to make sure air inlet tube and venturi are completely clear could have some salt build up in them

ReeferEric

Resident Reef Junky
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
10" is a bit high in my opinion although the instructions say it's okay. I would raise it up to 2-3 inches which will keep it at around minimum, this will give you more control over the skimmer itself. I had it originally sitting in 9 inches of water and had control issues but moved it up to inches and now the skimmer works like a champ.

How are you washing the socks? I assume washing machine with bleach only.

OP
OP
L

learner1

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Ok I will lift it higher. I wash the sock in the machine with nothing not even bleach. It comes up very clean.
Originally it made no difference changing the sock but now it causes increased flow
In the skimmer of clean water, no skim at all.
I have checked pipes are all clear.

gmastr85