What corals to buy?

Oleshp

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello all,
I am fairly new to the reefing hobby (my salt tank has been going for about a year now). I have added corals in the past and havent had the best of luck. I recently added a brain coral to my tank which seems to be doing well. My question is, what other corals can/should I add to my tank? I have a 75gal. with two led strips and one t5 blue actinic running. I would like to start with some coral that will grow pretty fast because I'm tired of staring at bare live rock. Also coral that is fairly easy to keep alive and happy.

Thanks for the help
-Phil

OP
OP
Oleshp

Oleshp

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I forgot to mention, I would like to have a variety of colors. The brain coral I have now is mostly green.
fpOOGKR.jpg

gmastr85

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Mushrooms tend to spread fast also... birdsnests are cheap and grow rapidly...

Pete polyp

acro serial killer
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
What led strips are you using. It might be inadequate lighting for moderate to high light demanding corals.

OP
OP
Oleshp

Oleshp

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
What led strips are you using. It might be inadequate lighting for moderate to high light demanding corals.

I have 1 Fluval 36" Full spectrum, and 1 Fluval 24" full spectrum. Both are centered lengthwise on the tank, on either side of a 48" t5 blue actinic.

Shep

Acan Connoisseur
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Try some acans, they like low light and low flow.

Pete polyp

acro serial killer
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Would my lighting be considered low lighting for corals? I don't want to burn them or give any too much light.

Can you give more details on your lighting? How many led do the strips have? Wattage?

Last edited:

Oldude

View Badges
Reaction score