New - The Dark side? is that what they call it over here?

dghby

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi all, I have been keeping fish for roughly 6 years now. all on the fresh side. from Discus (20 in house at the moment) to Angels (3 breeding pair) to tetras, bloody parrots and beyond.

This will be the 9th tank in the house and to be honest, were kinda excited to get started. with that said, we are in no hurry, plan on cycling up the tank for a couple months before anything goes in it.
(how many people say that and really stick to it? gonna try )

So, give me any advice you see fit. here are the plans (up and running as of yesterday)

75 gl tank plan is to have a reef system but will begin with fish and slowly begin to add corals and such. no sump no refugium.
at the moment 90 lb of Figi premium live rock, 80 lb Argonite sand. 2 HOB Aquaclear 70's.
2 Korilia 1150 powerheads and an Octopus 2000 HOB Skimmer. obviously heater.

this should be plenty of water flow, correct??

So, couple questions

1. what type of media should I use for these Aquaclear HOB's ? I am thinking Activated carbon in one, suggestions for the other?
I am aware that these can become nitrate traps, BUT wit 20 Discus, 7 of which are juvies I am in this fishroom everyday doing something.
maintenance is not an issue andi plan on rinsing and cleaning thes out once a week.

2. Temperature?? I plan on 80 degrees. is this ideal?
3. already ask, I should be good with water flow, correct?

feel free to add anything you feel needs brought up, suggestions are never frowned upon with me.

thanks, Tom

revhtree

Owner Administrator
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 100%
1   0   0
Welcome to REEF2REEF! We're very glad you joined and hope that you will enjoy the forums, enter contest, start a tank thread, and just be a part of our family friendly community!

Start a new tank thread here: Member Tanks

Enter a FREE contest here: R2R Giveaway and Contest Forum