Nikon or Canon?

J Rog

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
So i want to go buy a decent camera today and trying to decide if I should go with a nikon on canon.. I was looking online at the nikon D5200. Any opinions on this cam? This would be my first real camera and want something that is able to take good pics and videos, can be upgraded in the future with good lenses, and is pretty easy to use.. So what do ya think?

OP
OP
J Rog

J Rog

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Got some advice from a friend thats a professional photographer. With my price range she said i cant go wrong with the Nikon D5200.

softy

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
i am no expert, but i think it's half dozen one the other! both make great camera systems, and both are used by pros!

d2mini

5000 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
i am no expert, but i think it's half dozen one the other! both make great camera systems, and both are used by pros!

+1
It all comes down to personal preference. It's a honda vs toyota type of conversation.
There are differences in handling, button layout, etc.
Best advise i can give you is to go to a store where you can handle them for a bit and see which ones feel more natural to you.

OP
OP
J Rog

J Rog

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Ya, I don't really know anything about DSLR's.. But planing on learning :) hopefully will be picking up the 5200 if I can sneak away from the office for a min ;)

LetItReef

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
On older Nikon models and not sure if changed on newer models but with Canon you can use high- end lenses even on a base dslr's.

d2mini

5000 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
On older Nikon models and not sure if changed on newer models but with Canon you can use high- end lenses even on a base dslr's.