live rock

b-gin-86

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
hi everyone I am new to R2R and new to the saltwater hobby as well. I have my tank set up and it is full of water. Now I am wanting to add the rock. I read online that I should use live rock and I also read I should use dry rock. Does anyone have any recomondations? Also where is a good place to buy rock? Thanks!!!

Longnose Hawkfish

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Check your local fish store and see what they sell. I like live rock, but dry rock will become live rock over time.

Reefing Madness

Carbon Doser
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Dry Rock will not get you the pesky hitch hikers that come with Live Rock. Fully Cured Live Rock on the other hand will cycle your tank in a matter of days, instead of a matter of weeks, using dry rock.
You can always get coralline algae via scrapings off another piece of LR from somewhere else.
I prefer Macro Rocks myself, no problem critter attached to this stuff, and it looks great.

Waters

"...in perfect isolation, here behind my wall."
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I also prefer live rock....my tank skipped the initial cycle due to the live rock. Plus I seem to be one of the rare people that find great enjoyment in discovering the hidden life that comes with high quality rock. I don't know if this site has restrictions on posting links to vendors so just do a search for live rock and you will get a ton of places that sell it.

TBAquaculture

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
There are many types of Rock you can get, Dry rock, which was talked about earlier, Live Rock from a LFS, (most of what I see is wet dry rock or Import rock) and Aquacultured Live Rock.