Are Damsels my only option?

ritter6788

Coral Fraud Private Eye
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Looking to add a fish or 2 to my 75 gallon. I have some long established fish and it's going to be difficult to add something new with the stocking I have now.
Right now I have:

Ocellaris clownfish pair (big mean female chases fish such as wrasses and anthias)
Yellow Tang (would not add another tang to this tank)
Bluespot Watchman Goby (cranky but doesn't fight unless someone gets in his cave)
Falco Hawkfish (chases some smaller fish)
Starry Blenny (doesn't fight with fish but bites my hand daily)
Mandarin (this eliminates adding pod eating fish like wrasses)

I've tried dwarf angels before but my corals are always nipped by them. My clowns won't allow fish like anthias, fairy/flasher wrasses.

Are damsels my last option? I have lots of experience with them and know they can be aggressive but with the fish stock I have right now I'm thinking about adding a small damsel or 2 like a yellow tail or an azure.

camelcruiser

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
You could try a copperband they usually aren't as bad of nippers as dwarf Angels and I don't think anything in your tank would harass it much.

Saltgator

Tang Keeper
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
What about a neon dottyback? Or possibly a sea betta? Btw, I've got to see the starry biting your hand,lol. I've been looking into them, preferably a pair.

OP
OP
ritter6788

ritter6788

Coral Fraud Private Eye
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
You could try a copperband they usually aren't as bad of nippers as dwarf Angels and I don't think anything in your tank would harass it much.

I had a copperband last year that only lasted 3 months. I thought the yellow tang would be aggressive to it so I removed the tang and added the copperband. I'll try another one day but after my last failure I'm taking a break from the CBs. Definitely a future option though.