Has any one used BRS Hw Marine Mix Reefer Salt?

prsnlty

Jackie
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I was wondering has anyone used this salt and for how long? Do you have SPS and what do you think of it compared to other salts. I am mulling over changing from reef crystals and curious to know how it compares. Ca, Mg, Alk etc also...

hw-Marinemix Reefer Salt Mix 160 Gallons - Bulk Reef Supply

Last edited:

kevantheman35

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I just picked some up during the black friday sale. Ive been using reef crystals for a few years and have never really been happy. I get a nasty sludge in my mixing tank from the reef crystals which seems odd to me, I hear the hw mixes clean and wont leave anything in the tank. Having mixed a batch yet so can't comment further. following

OP
OP
prsnlty

prsnlty

Jackie
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I just picked some up during the black friday sale. Ive been using reef crystals for a few years and have never really been happy. I get a nasty sludge in my mixing tank from the reef crystals which seems odd to me, I hear the hw mixes clean and wont leave anything in the tank. Having mixed a batch yet so can't comment further. following

Yeah I hear you on RC. And it can mix for 12 hrs and still isn't crystal clear. Not only that, but lately the balance isn't consistant. This is also what I'm concerned about with BRS's new salt.

I'm wondering about the CA, MG, ALK and trace at 1.026 SA. also. If I intend to change salts i want to be sure it's one I can stick with.

jcdeng

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
mixes clear in an hour or two, didn't test the big 3 on it though.

OP
OP
prsnlty

prsnlty

Jackie
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0