April 2014 R2R Spotlight: Trido

SeahorseKeeper

Where's the mysis?
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
April 2014 R2R Tank Spotlight: Trido
https://www.reef2reef.com/forums/large-aquariums-180g/132644-tridos-210-wall.html

march 2014.jpg

Owner:

Duane Oestreich (trido)

I currently work as a maintenance mechanic at a local College and was previously a residential General Contractor for thirteen years. I remodeled houses for 20 years in all, performing all trades. Electrical and plumbing are two of my favorite phases of tank builds. I have also built custom stands for friends and our LFS’s. I’m married with two kids and own too many pets. When we can, my family and I like to camp in our travel trailer in the North Cascade Mountains. I also love salmon fishing with my best friend Todd in the fall. You might know him as TJ on the forum here.

How Did You Get Into This Hobby?

I’ve been keeping fish tanks for 27 years. Nine years ago I started the planning of my first 120 gallon in-wall salt water tank. I’ve been a reef keeper ever since. Four years ago, I broke down my 210, but I never really left the hobby because I custom built a couple of systems for others. Soon enough I had a 29G SPS tank, a year later upgraded to an old 65G I had laying around and one year later set the 210 In-wall back up. My total system is about 380 gallons, down from the 500 gallons the last time it was set up. I don’t plan ever to go bigger but I would like to upgrade my current tank to a custom Starphire 210 with an external overflow.

Tank and stand:

My tank is a standard 210 Gallon glass AGA (now aqueon) tank. The stand is mostly 2x4’s (in the front wall) but the underside in my laundry room is open with only two 4x4 posts and a 4x8 beam that supports the whole back of the tank.

Progression Pics:
May 2006
May2006.JPG

Mid 2007
mid2007.jpg

2009.jpg

Nov 2013
Nov2013.jpg

March 2014
march 2014.jpg

Sump: