View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0

DECEMBER REEF OF THE MONTH

REEF AQUARIUM of Keith Berkelhamer
nov132010tankpic1a.jpg

Introduction:
My father indirectly planted the reef keeping bug inside me when I was a youngster. He kept a couple of rather large saltwater tanks when I was a kid, and I fondly remember accompanying him on many trips to the fish store. He did get back into the hobby for a few years after my obsession took off but now is tank free, although he is always willing to join me every now and then on my jaunts to the fish store.

I actually didn't have a tank to call my own until I graduated college and was working in the "real world". It all began so innocently at a New York City street fair called the San Genaro Festival, where I won a goldfish. It was amazing that I even got the fish home since my future bride and I had celebrated rather excessively that night. The tiny bowl that came with the fish made me feel sorry for the critter, so I decided to go out and buy him (or was it her?) a more suitable home: a one or two gallon tank. I believe that fish lasted two weeks or so.

Despite the bad experience, I was hooked, and I guess you could say that it was all downhill from there. I went from owning a 29 gallon fresh water aquarium with many fish and live plants, to a 90 gallon acrylic tank. The 90, which replaced the 29, was my first reef tank. I eventually replaced the 90 with a 120 gallon reef that was wet for a few years. I broke the 120 down and took a 2½ year hiatus before setting up my current 225 gallon tank. I have now been a "ReefBum" for approximately 15 years.

april2410tankpic28a.jpg

april2410tankpic31a.jpg

jan3110tankpic23a.jpg

nov132010tankpic6a.jpg

etankapril0107pic4a.jpg

etankapril0107pic5.jpg

midsc02972%5B2%5D.jpg

esep0207tankpic8a.jpg

esep0207tankpic11a.jpg

System Profile: