Lowering Nitrates

pickupman66

5000 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
So, i have been battling my 180 for the last two months. I cannot seem to get my Nitrates where they need to be. Some History:

I have not been a water change type of guy. I know this can contribute but in the past I have always been able to keep it under control with a nitrate coil or bio-pellets. Lately, not so much. they have gotten as high as 50ppm but lately, seem stuck on 25ppm according to my salifert kit. even riht after a water change, I got 25ppm. same as I had before. I thought my salifert kit was bad, so i tested some freshly made up water. it tested at zero.

I have done a 50 gallon water change this weekend and last weekend. and have not made an impact. (total water volume is in the 225 gallon range)

I am running about 1500Ml brs biopellets

I setup an ATS about 5 weeks ago. I am getting a good strong growth on it now and feel it should really kick in soon.

FWIW, my Alk is 7.8, Ca is 450, Ph is 8.0, phos is .03

any additional suggestions? I lost two very large colonies to my issues. they went up in massive RTN events likely due to sustained exposure to the >25ppm Nitrates.
2013-12-03 20.49.38.jpg

beaslbob

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
When the ATS "kicks in" nitrates and phosphates will become unmeasureable. and pH will increase also.

my .02

OP
OP
pickupman66

pickupman66

5000 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Thanks BOB. thats sort of what I was hoping to hear. the ATS is 9" wide and 18" tall so it is pretty good sized. Lit on each side by a pair of 100 watt EQ CFL.

zemuss

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Important part of this is not to clean the ATS fully. Leave some of the established algae on the screen. So a good scaping would do for the cleaning.

I used to run a ATS and plan to do this in the future, but am running a bio-pellet reactor now.

OP