Please help. About to give up!

Trickdout69

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Ok I'm fairly new to this. I started with a 56g tank and added a few corals and fish corals being a few hammers a dunkin, Montipora. The fish being a few tangs and clown fish. Well long story short the fish out grew that tank so my great girlfriend surprised me with a new 210g tank. I built it from the bottom up. I have a 55g sump with fudge. It's been up and running for about a year and I can't seem to keep most of the corals alive. The hammers seem to be fine but the dunkin closed up and I lost a few others. Now I have been to a couple of lfs and have been working with a few guys there. I don't have exact numbers but the test my water weekly and it always checks perfect. Iv been battling this for months now. The water parameters never seem to change. Always on point. I do weekly water changes and use the Red Sea coral salt. I dose with the Red Sea reef foundation abc+ and use fuel. I spot feed them often. I don't know what to do. I can't keep loosing everything. The lighting I'm using is the Ajm reef LEDs. The same light I had great luck with on my 56g tank. Any help would be great. Thank you

ritter6788

Coral Fraud Private Eye
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I would start by not dosing anything and test yourself to get your exact parameters.

Salinity, ammonia, nitrites, alkalinty, calcium and magnesium. Very important to test often. If you are blindly dosing supplements your alkalinity could be too high.

Daddio

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I find that by testing yourself (as Ritter said) you get more in tune with your tank. Try not dosing the abc+ and dosing individually such as foundation a, b & c separately. That way you can dose exactly what your tank needs and have more control. That is a huge tank and your water should stay stable.