Reef crystals vs esv - triton test

hart24601

5000 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
So I thought it would be fun to use the triton test to look at my two salt mixes. I have been using rc for a few years, but decided to try esv. I used new bags of both, 30g each at 1.025. The container was rinsed with 1n hcl, and rinsed throughly with 0tds water. Magnetic stir bar was used to mix the salt, plastic forceps were used to hold the vials for collection.

Enjoy!

Reef crystals:
image.jpg

image.jpg

Esv:
image.jpg

image.jpg

Thoughts? Hopefully Randy will chime in.

image.jpg

image.jpg

image.jpg

image.jpg

OP
OP
hart24601

hart24601

5000 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
And finally results from my 65g. I do run go, carbon, poly filter from time to time and recently put tlf metasorb in my sump, but it could be exhausted my now. Sorry for all the data sheets.

image.jpg

image.jpg

Randy Holmes-Farley

Reef Chemist
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Thanks for posting that!

Have you used ESV in the aquarium yet?

The lithium would suggest yes. Curious, and concerning, that it is so high.

A number of people of people get Triton results with elevated iodine. I wonder what is up with that? Maybe an interference, or maybe whole suspended organisms containing iodine. I rarely see anyone with a kit result that is substantially over 0.06 ppm.

Assuming it is accurate, I wonder where the tin (Sn) is coming from.

OP
OP
hart24601

hart24601

5000 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I have been using esv shortly before I took the sample for the test, guess that is pretty clear! Now looking at those numbers, which mix would you choose...

Randy Holmes-Farley

Reef Chemist
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0