A simple guide on shooting your first coral video!

• Thread starter inactive
  • Start date
  • Tagged users None
I

inactive

View Badges
So.... you found the video setting on your camera? Awesome.... now what do you do with it? Well... you can have a bad first experience like most people... or you can get some decent results with a few simple steps. Keep in mind, I am still learning most of this myself!

Anyways.... just like shooting pictures of your tank, your display should be as CLEAN as possible. Remember that when you clean your tank, you are going to disturb the clarity of the water for a moment so it is best to do your cleaning a while before you shoot vids.

If you have a glass tank, use a razor blade to scrape the glass clean in areas you want to shoot. If you have an acrylic tank, you can use any plastic safe pad/cloth for most of it.... Hard algae like coraline can me removed with a credit card. Bow the credit card in your palm/finger tips and flake that stuff off!

Cleaning the area at the bottom of the tank, or where the sand bed begins is critical! Your best macro footage is going to come from this area.... if you keep a lot of nice pieces on the sand bed you will get the most out of this!

Corals can be moved close to the glass for shooting macro video.... if you have a HD cam with a decent lens, you can get some INCREDIBLE stuff.... my camera is cheap compared to most, and I can get some cool close ups. I can't even imagine using a REAL HD cam!

Corals that you move may need some time to reopen before you shoot. If I want to be 100%, I will move all my corals in the morning before the lights come on, or the night before.