How do I know when my corals start to reach for light?

duff0712

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I am still new to the reefing game and I am trying to learn as much as I can. I believe most of my coral are doing just fine (acans and mushrooms), except my yuma, but I have been seeing a lot of conversations about coral reaching for light. My tank is taller than most and my lighting isn't top notch, but regardless, for what I have I think I am pretty well off.

I was mainly wondering what an acan and mushroom/yuma would look like if it was reaching for light? I can assume what happens when they get too much light which would be shriveling and bleaching, but since I have no basis because I am new, I am not exactly sure what a purely healthy and non-healthy coral looks like to compare. I don't want to confuse a happily extended acan/mushroom for one reaching for light and compromise its happiness! Or confuse an extending coral for one being plump and happy.

Pictures would be awesome, but any info on this is welcome :)

Kinda off topic if anyone would like to diagnose my Yuma problems:
My Yuma was doing extremely well for a week. It wasn't more than a few inches from the sand bed in probably low-med flow and it was extremely extended. I got one of the chinese mars aqua LED and was playing around with it over my tank. I was adjusting the intensity of it (quickly to see how bright it was) and right as I started doing that I noticed my Yuma was acting strange. I left the LED on for like 2 days max and took it off to go back to my Fluval LED and t5 combo. My Yuma has gotten extremely white losing almost all of its purple (still have orange "bubbles" on it) and has shrunken significantly. I have moved it to the sandbed and hope it will make a recovery. Do you think I might have shocked it when I was playing around with the Mars Aqua LED settings? I will post before and after pictures tomorrow after I wake up.

Thanks for any info and help!