how do you learn to id corals?

flounder

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I'm no pro, but i can name most common corals by their common names. But other than milli, digi, and a few others i cant tell you its a tenuis vs any other scientific name. How do i get better at it?

saltyfilmfolks

Lights! Camera! Reef!
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0

reefwiser

LMAS
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Charlie is the master. I have been lucky to meet Charlie at MACNA's. I have the "BOOK" signed be him years ago. I always go the the scientific name not the "collector" or Funny name of the minute for a coral because you will not find the info you need to keep the coral

saltyfilmfolks

Lights! Camera! Reef!
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Charlie is the master. I have been lucky to meet Charlie at MACNA's. I have the "BOOK" signed be him years ago. I always go the the scientific name not the "collector" or Funny name of the minute for a coral because you will not find the info you need to keep the coral
On of my friends LFS 15 min from here is a national seller(no names), and keeps inventing names. Kinda irksome.
A question popped up a few weeks ago here with care questions based on the name, no pic, it went unanswered.
For the OP once you learn species & taxonomy etc youll be quickly ID the what and where of the coral.

@reefwiser I have pledged to get more books.

OP
OP
flounder

flounder

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Thanks everyone so far.

I would someday like to have a TOTM or something similar, and they usaully have some listing of all the species of corals that they have. More often than not in the scientific names too. I think it would be a skill to look at a coral (acro) and say "that is a parilis not a papillare" or look at an acro and correctly say that its a acropora valida. Or austera or hoekemai.
Right now I just call them how I see them.....blue.....green.....bluish green :)