Super glue or not?

newsalth2o

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
During sump comstruction of glass and plastic is it ok to use superglue on plastic to plastic joints then silicon over them when dry?

caudill187

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I'm no expert on the subject, but I believe that there are acrylic specific adhesives that would be better? That may work better with glass than plastic.

luke33

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Glass to glass is silicone, acrylic to acrylic is weld on. If you have a glass sump and use acrylic baffles and try to use silicone to bond the two they may come apart after time. Me personally i have used silicone in this situation and it worked, but it seemed like it could have busted out at any time.

patent

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Is this just for something like baffles or sections, or do you absolutely positively need it to be water tight? you could use silicon for the former but you are essentially just bonding the silicon to the aquarium and then pressure fitting the acrylic in between layers of silicon. Not really the best approach, but it can work. I'd go to the hardware store and have some glass cut myself.

OP
OP
N

newsalth2o

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I guess the real question is .. If you can use superglue gel on corals why not on plastics in the sump? the super glue it self , once dry, should not harm the aquaria, Correct?

drainbamage

Extreme Whippersnapper
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I guess the real question is .. If you can use superglue gel on corals why not on plastics in the sump? the super glue it self , once dry, should not harm the aquaria, Correct?

in terms of being harmful to anything- you're absolutely correct.