10 year old clowns still feeling frisky

Maddlesrain

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
My pair of ocellaris clowns have really been laying recently! This is the third batch of eggs in the past months time! They've lay before, maybe once or twice (that I've seen), but this last clutch is by far the biggest. Here's a dinky phone photo.
IMG_2716.JPG

You probably can't see because the quality is horrible, but these new eggs are mingled with the previous stragglers from the last batch. There are maybe 7 almost fully developed babies along the left side of the little crevice.

I've never tried raising any of the fry before, but is there a chance of doing so without moving the parents or eggs?

Daniel@R2R

Living the Reef Life
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 100%
1   0   0
Cool! My understanding on raising fry is that it's really difficult (borderline impossible) in our tanks due to the feeding requirements of the fry and likelihood of predation in such a confined space (not to mention death via protein skimmer or other filtration). Maybe someone who has done more research/experience than I can weigh in. #reefsquad

dbl

It Takes Less Energy to be Nice
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
When mine started laying, my wife wanted me to try to raise them. All research indicated another tank and setting up a rotifer system. I said no way. She said "come on, you can do it". I made her read what I read and her last comment was "well, I guess the fry makes good eating for the rest of the tank". Long story short...it would be awesome to try if you have the time and energy to do so.

OP
OP
Maddlesrain

Maddlesrain

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0