((150g reef aquarium)) Fairly new at this and could use some advice!!

babyg2.0

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I am fairly new to the hobby, so please excuse me if I ask dumb questions [emoji51]

I have been mulling over the idea of having a 150g Reef tank setup for a couple months now and, since I actually have the room for it now, I would love to start one. I have been doing my research and I know that I want to DIY the sump (wayyy cheaper-- unless you guys know a place that sells sumps on the cheaper end of the spectrum), I am looking into protein skimmers, and will most likely build my own RODI system. However, I do have a bunch of questions.

1) how big of a tank should I get for the sump? And is there any preferred way to split up the sections of a sump for a reef aquarium? (I would love to hear your opinions!)

2) Would you recommend Live rock or dried rock? the thought of live rock is extremely intimidating to me because I do have other tanks I would like to continue to put time into and there seems to be many time-consuming problems with live rock. Also, do you experienced aquarists have a preferred rock? I was really looking into Pukani but I've also heard of this purple dry rock that seems to have a lot of benefits and can be shaped pretty easily.

3) Would sand be a better substrate or crushed corals and shells? maybe a mix? I'm really not sure on this one. Both are so pretty IMO.

4) Would my two clowns (one black and white percula and one percula) be okay with a yellow tank and flame angelfish or should I keep them in their 20g?

5) Would it be more beneficial to buy an RODI unit or DIY my own? also, if it comes down to buying one, where is the best place to look, or, if DIYing, how many chambers do I really need/what media should I use?

sbash

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Okay, here goes: