24hr dosing pumps: To push or to pull through the CaRx | #AskBRStv

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Total: 1, Members: 0, Guests: 1)

randyBRS

BRStv Host :-)
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hey Reefers!

We just keep pushing them out and today we have another #AskBRStv for you. This one is from the community over on YouTube where John was wondering whether you push or pull into a CaRx when using the continuous duty dosing pump from Kamoer.

Find out what we think. :)

OP
OP
randyBRS

randyBRS

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Thank YOU, I am a newbie at this and would be curious what others are doing too!

So I am clear, pull line is in the sump to the doser and I am pushing the out from the doser into the reactor, would this be push or pull? please advise Thanks.

Push means your dosing pump is between the sump and reactor (essentially pushing water into the reactor)

Pull means your dosing pump is on the output side of the reactor and your are sucking water through it. (basically like a straw from the sump but with a reactor in between)

joe berkman

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I haven't set my rx up yet. what the heck the pump after the reactor,Does anyone have thoughts on siphoning down from the tank, or drawing up from the sump, and how would you bleed air from the system with the later.

OP
OP
randyBRS

randyBRS

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I haven't set my rx up yet. what the heck the pump after the reactor,Does anyone have thoughts on siphoning down from the tank, or drawing up from the sump, and how would you bleed air from the system with the later.

I'd imagine that bleeding is more so dependent on the CaRx manufacturer, or where the effluent output is positioned. Some reactors, like the Vertex one in this video, has a recirculating line that draws the air back into the CO2 reaction chamber which eventually will make it out of the reactor.