(30 Gallon) Starting First Saltwater Reef Tank, Need Some advice on what is going on with my tank.

jacobupnext

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello Reefers,

I'm new to this hobby and it is definitely pretty cool to see everyone's setup. Mine is pretty simple so far, here's some insight to my tank for context.

I have a 30 Gallon tank, RedSea RL50, Profin Hang on the back filter w/ Protein Skimmer, Nano Skimmer.

Starting out I mixed my own saltwater using a 3 stage RODI filter, and the specific gravity averages around 1.025.
The tank has 25LB of live sand and two live rocks, I added API quick start when the tank just starting cycling waited about a week then stocked with a breeding pair of ocellarius clownfish. Another week went by and then I stocked two Nsarius snails, a leather coral from Petco, and an emerald crab as I started having a brown algae bloom which I believe is from overfeeding.
Currently there is only a little bit left of the brown algae.
I've noticed a little black dot on my coral and am concerned if it is a worm or pest and if I should dip the coral to be cautious. I've taken a video at 10 minutes long and sped it up about 100x if you guys can tell if it is a pest or not, would be super helpful as I am panicking!

I've been using a free aquarium app to keep track of my levels as well as doing weekly 30% water changes to try to get my nitrates under control.
I've considered getting some macro algae to help with these excess nutrients, let me know if this is a good idea.

Any advice is super helpful, and I am new so please try to be constructive so I know what to do better.

Happy Reefing :)

IMG_4205.PNG IMG_4204.PNG IMG_4203.PNG IMG_4202.PNG

Attachments

• IMG_4197.MOV
    29.8 MB

Koconnor15

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I have a few pointers I hope will help :)