550 Gallon: 120Lx36Wx29H + Fish Room

Top Shelf Aquatics
OP
Blue Tang Clan

Blue Tang Clan

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Nov 14, 2017
Messages
347
Reaction score
705
Location
Maryland
I'm having a heck of a time with Nitrates...I think. For the last year, I haven't been able to get any reading below 25 on either the Salifert or Nyos tests. Those both seem to be reputable, but nothing has budged in a year.

I've been carbon dosing 80mL of NoPOX the last 10 days, with no drop in Nitrates, and my Phosphates have dipped down from .05 to lower (I'm dosing to keep it above 0.) I have cyano all around, but that it probably just too much lighting.

Is there any chance that the Nitrates are actually lower? I do 15% water changes once a month.

Are there any other ways I can lower Nitrates?
 

PSU4ME

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Feb 11, 2013
Messages
420
Reaction score
291
Location
Boston
I’m interested to see if you’re able to kick the cyano without chemicals. I’m in the same boat, everything seems to be good but it just keeps coming back. All KP rocks, TMP salt, BBK skimmer, medium fish load. I don’t get it. My nitrates are also around 25 with PO4 in the .05-.15 range depending on WC schedule. I feel like some “cycle” is stuck somewhere.
 

vetteguy53081

Well known Member and monster tank lover
View Badges
Joined
Aug 11, 2013
Messages
44,094
Reaction score
100,577
Location
Wisconsin-Florida in a year
Ive been in hobby 34+ years and think its safe to say ive used Every salt brand and marin pro is my favorite.
 

Barnabie Mejia

Well-Known Member
View Badges
Joined
Jun 10, 2019
Messages
508
Reaction score
982
Location
El Paso, Texas/ Chamberino, New Mexico
I was going to recommend an around 50% water change or more to help balance things out... I know with a 550 gallon tank, that's a hit to the wallet, but after a year of trying to figure it out, it might be worth it... have you sent in an ICP test to see where everything else that might be off. I would think that might be a viable option as well seeing that you have a large volume of tank water.

I was having an issue with my 75g and low Alk with high calcium & Mag numbers. I was doing a whole lot and it wouldn't go up. I ended up doing 20 gallon water changes every other day for 2 weeks to bring things back in order and lowered my doses. it worked well and everything is happy.

just a thought.

Barnabie
 

Tristren

Well-Known Member
View Badges
Joined
May 16, 2017
Messages
778
Reaction score
803
Location
Ottawa
I use a refugium too with a fancy Kessil grow light, but even with dosing phosphate I can’t get chaeto to grow much.

I’m going to try a 200 gallon water change to see if the readings are different. I can’t imagine both test kits are off...
Have you sent off samples for ICP testing?
 
OP
Blue Tang Clan

Blue Tang Clan

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Nov 14, 2017
Messages
347
Reaction score
705
Location
Maryland
Have you sent off samples for ICP testing?
Everything looks good on the ICP -- and has for months. Cyano seems to be something else altogether.

I've been trying to do a 200G water change, but my wife has been in the hospital for the past week. CDC case #10 for near-fatal adverse reactions to the J&J virus. Reefing is the most amazing hobby out there, but I'm putting all my energy into getting her better, and taking care of our 7-month old right now. The fish will live through anything, and if I lose some corals, that's okay. I need my family first.
 
Top Shelf Aquatics

VegetaD

Community Member
View Badges
Joined
Mar 10, 2018
Messages
51
Reaction score
165
Location
Madison
Try dosing microbacter7 and microbacter7 clean. Both add the the bacterial diversity. Also look at Razor which is enzymatic. All products are from bright well.
I have used clean and 7 to eradicate cyano and hair algae
 
OP
Blue Tang Clan

Blue Tang Clan

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Nov 14, 2017
Messages
347
Reaction score
705
Location
Maryland
I'm going with a lights off/dim approach for 3 days to get things under control. My phosphates are about 0.04 and Nitrates still at 25 so I'm not sure Microbacter7 will help since it is highly effective at reducing nutrients. I may experiment with adding other bacteria -- the tank can't look much worse!! ;)
 

ReeferBud

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Jul 2, 2017
Messages
377
Reaction score
268
Location
Houston
Plumbing update: I have to wait for a few more fittings (arriving Monday) before I can finish my support tank plumbing.

The issue is - I have corals and fish that really need to come over from my old house.

Are there any big downsides to filling my frag tank below the water overflow line and putting in corals? Lights are ready to go, and I could manually does ask/cal - just no plumbing.

how long do you think I could go without plumbing (filtration) before issues arise?

684B1DC6-D118-4EEA-8E92-D5633E3E0E2F.jpeg

hi, awesome build!

what racks did you use to put the frag tank and quarantine tank on? I’d like to do something similar and looks like you got some good racks.

what did you use in the bottom in between the rack itself and the tanks, just plywood?
 
OP
Blue Tang Clan

Blue Tang Clan

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Nov 14, 2017
Messages
347
Reaction score
705
Location
Maryland
what racks did you use to put the frag tank and quarantine tank on? I’d like to do something similar and looks like you got some good racks.

what did you use in the bottom in between the rack itself and the tanks, just plywood?

I used two 77" wide steel racks from Home Depot. They sometimes go down to $149/each - and you can use a common middle vertical support to save room. I added some spare PVC boards to the front so I could nail/screw things to the rack itself.

Those racks come with wire supports, but for the heavy stuff I used 5/8" plywood. If you wrap the side edge of the plywood in white tape, it makes it look like it's a sheet of white pvc.
 
Budmans

neilp2006

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Joined
Aug 15, 2017
Messages
4,448
Reaction score
7,326
I used two 77" wide steel racks from Home Depot. They sometimes go down to $149/each - and you can use a common middle vertical support to save room. I added some spare PVC boards to the front so I could nail/screw things to the rack itself.

Those racks come with wire supports, but for the heavy stuff I used 5/8" plywood. If you wrap the side edge of the plywood in white tape, it makes it look like it's a sheet of white pvc.
A local guy had two 40g breeders literally break the steel pin that attaches the shelf to the uprights- the little weird shaped ones that fit in the holes. They were 2 different racks, 3 weeks apart. I was all set on getting a few of those to hold 40bs and 20longs for various reasons until
I heard that. I unpacked one, checked out the supports and noped out. Built wooden stands instead.

glad they are working out for you.
 

Would you ever consider setting up a "dropoff" reef aquarium?

  • I already have a dropoff tank. Yay me!

    Votes: 16 4.5%
  • Yes I would like to set one up in the future.

    Votes: 169 47.3%
  • No (please explain in the thread)

    Votes: 154 43.1%
  • Other (please explain)

    Votes: 18 5.0%
CS
Top