65 gallon reef stocking overview/advice

Thanos

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Just wanted to get some final advice on my planned stocking list for my 65 gallon community reef tank. I'm a beginner and this is my first saltwater tank so if you see any glaring issues please let me know.

Fish I already have:
2 Ocellaris Clownfish
1 Royal Gramma

CUC I already have:
3 Red-Foot Hermits
1 Juvenile Black Longspined Sea Urchin - ik these guys are often avoided in favor of pincushions/tuxedos but I don't like how those 2 tend to become rolling balls of debris, plus I absolutely love watching the long-spined variants, I find them really mesmerizing.

Fish I plan to get:
2 Banggai Cardinal Fish
1 Carpenter Flasher Wrasse
1 Juvenile Blue Tang - My LFS which has been in business for 30+ plus years allows trade-ins in which I can get one 2-3 inches long and trade it in for a younger one once it outgrows my tank. My parents insisted on a vibrant blue-colored fish and since the only other real option is playing Russian Roulette with damsels, this seems like a very sound choice.

CUC I plan to get:
1 Fighter Conch
5 Astrea Snails
1 Cleaner Shrimp
3 More Hermits

So yeah that's the current plan with stocking. Any feedback is greatly appreciated. My only fear right now is that the tank might be slightly overstocked, but better I find that out now than after I add my final fish. If you have any alternative suggestions for anything I'd love to hear them.

davidcalgary29

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Skip the tang and get another fish. No, really. You'll be much happier (and so will the fish) if you don't have to trade it in in a year or two.