75g stocking amount and order. Advice please!

cybrook1421

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello! I am starting a 75g mixed reef tank with 29g sump in a few months and am trying to plan my stocking. I have 5 years experience with freshwater and I know you can typically stock those heavier than salt, so I just want to be careful. I am willing to spend what I need to on filtration (already planned for oversize skimmer) to get the fish I want plus a few more. Buy once, cry once they say (and that's the motto I am going with).

Fish I for sure want:
2 of the larger clowns
1 diamond goby
1 green chromis
1 royal gramma
1 tang (tomini or kole, but leaning toward kole)
1 golden dwarf moray eel

I would like to add a few more if possible from the list below:
lawnmower blenny
dispar anthias
wrasse (not sure what kind)
firefish
longnose hawkfish

Clean up Crew:
1 tuxedo urchin
1 emerald crab
2 peppermint shrimp
1 skunk cleaner shrimp
3 nasarius snails
1 fighting conch
3 cerith snail
5 hermits
5 trochus snail

Are there any recommendations on which additional fish I should include? Did I miss something in my research that some of these cannot go together?

Also, what order do I add in? I have heard the least to most aggressive, so the tang and eel will be last. But I am not sure what order to add in the clowns, chromis, gramma, etc.

If anyone would be kind enough to offer advice, it would be much appreciative!

polyppal

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I would say your for sure list all sounds doable, though I would do it in a few stages to let the biofilter catch up. While those other fish would work in a 75g (maybe a single anthias, not a school in that size) it would start to get pretty crowded at that point. Unsure about any fish eating issues you may have with the eel or not.

You can do pretty much whatever you want with a CUC, as long as they arent starving because there are too many.