90g - Sump build with roller matt - need advice - all DIY lets get this project rolling.

Dukereefnz

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Lets start with the first picture - tank stand is 40inch - 1m high.
Plan is to put a shelf in with doors on it to hide all the control wires, controllers mounted on the doors.
Been done before and I am copying, great idea.

Tank is 36 x 24 x 24 just under the 90G mark.
(and yes it is right next to the fire - used a few month a year but on low heat most of the time, a heat shield will be used when needed.)
And it will be closer to the wall.....

And to add the stand was a rush... will be redone its not square- ordered pocket screws etc and 90deg clamps... table saw all coming
Being an engineer, I could not stand (excuses the pun) it was not square, give me steel any day, I hate wood.
IMG_2342.JPG

Plan is a simple sump, roller matt, skimmer bio plate and return pump.
Wife wants clowns and an anemone, me I am thinking SPS... negative landscape, sand, no sand. Who will win.
My last tank was a 3 x this tank... many years ago.. so much has changed. LOl

Roll-matt compartment is 10in x 7in - for reference.

1) Is there enough room left for things like calcium reactor? what else would or should i think of to put in this area?
Do I need to make the sump smaller?

I am thinking of making the stand deeper, it does not need to go against the wall... I could gain 6-8 inch
Proposed sump (cardboard version) - 560 (23in ) x 460 (18in) x 400 (16in)

Control - Robo-tank - reef Pi
Sensor for roller-matt water level to run matt roller motor
Sensor to monitor low fleece level, send email and stop the roller matt motor.

First is layout.
2) Does the sump layout look OK? Advice please?

A) Overflow water is in to the Auto roller-matt section, through removable clamp, - under the bottom of the baffle in to the skimmer area.