A snail on my snail??

rudijbriggs

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi all. So I noticed my snail acting weird a couple days ago and we even found him upside down at one point and we flipped him back over. Since then he has moved, but barely. Today I noticed something on him (See picture). It looks like it has its own shell and a little black thing comes out of it with black antennas (I couldn’t get a picture of the thing coming out unfortunately) What on earth is this?

185D75FD-0E89-4CA3-BB34-551DBF42530C.jpeg

coralcoralcoral10

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I am new to this so don’t listen to me there are people with a lot of knowledge but it looks to me like stomatella. I could be wrong but I found some in a piece of coral. If it’s that it’s harmless.

WheatToast

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I am new to this so don’t listen to me there are people with a lot of knowledge but it looks to me like stomatella. I could be wrong but I found some in a piece of coral. If it’s that it’s harmless.
Personally, I believe it is a limpet (note the volcano-like shell), also a harmless algae grazer.

OP
OP
R

rudijbriggs

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Personally, I believe it is a limpet (note the volcano-like shell), also a harmless algae grazer.
I saw another post after I posted mine that was very similar and they also said limpet. So I suppose then I’m going with it being a limpet. I will keep an eye on it though. Even though it’s supposedly harmless, will it stay attached to my snail forever?

WheatToast

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I saw another post after I posted mine that was very similar and they also said limpet. So I suppose then I’m going with it being a limpet. I will keep an eye on it though. Even though it’s supposedly harmless, will it stay attached to my snail forever?