A week of fishless cycling and no added ammonia in what form whatsoever

Uzair Aiman

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Last week Ive set up my tank and dosed MB7. After doing some asking around I found out that I shouldve dosed some ammonia in my tank to "promote" the cycling process. So on Tuesday (Today is Friday), I added some freshwater fish food to add the ammonia into the tank. On the day I added the fish food I had an ammonia reading of around <0.15 to 0.25 (im new to Im not sure of the readings too much since its based on colour, I use Saliferts Ammonia testers) and a Nitrite reading of little to none.

Now Im just unsure of my reading because it might just be me "thinking" that the tank has ammonia in it because I added the fish food. Can anyone help me clarify and pinpoint my reading
1620976557756.png
1620976574842.png

is it still at a reading of 0.15 to 0.25 for ammonia? or has in increased to 0.5. Is the nitrite levels still 0?
and if so, does that mean that my tank is cycled because it broke down the ammonia I added 3 days ago?

EDIT : Ive had these readings constant since I first started up my tank from day 0. So Ive found that the reading of 0.15 to 0.25 ammonia might be an error (which means its actually 0mg/L.) So if these readings persist even after I added ammonia, does it mean its cycled? because its technically 0 ammonia

CaseyWagner

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I can't really judge the reading amount, but if you get something like Doctor Tim's you can dose a precise amount of ammonia to your tank to get a known amount, and then see if your tank breaks it down in 24h, 48h, etc.

OP
OP
Uzair Aiman

Uzair Aiman

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I can't really judge the reading amount, but if you get something like Doctor Tim's you can dose a precise amount of ammonia to your tank to get a known amount, and then see if your tank breaks it down in 24h, 48h, etc.